The current headquarters of the Royal College of Physicians (RCP) is a Grade I listed building designed by renowned architect Sir Denys Lasdun (1914–2001). Opened in 1964 next to Regent's Park, it is widely considered a modernist masterpiece and one of London’s most important post-war buildings.

The RCP has had five headquarters in London since its founding in 1518. The first was in Knightrider Street, south of St Paul’s Cathedral. The next premises, from 1614, were at nearby Amen Corner, but these were destroyed in the Great fire of London.  Warwick Lane had provided the next home, by 1674, until the RCP moved again in 1825, to fashionable Pall Mall East.

The RCP president at the time, Sir Robert Platt (1900-1978), approached Sir John Summerson for advice on finding a suitable architect. Summerson, the curator of the Sir John Soane’s Museum, supplied five names, all of whom were interviewed in the Censors' Room at the RCP. Denys Lasdun was appointed after making it clear that he would not create a building in the classical style.

Lasdun was surprised at being asked to design for such a traditional body, given his modernist philosophy. Ultimately, he responded to the challenge with a skilful integration of centuries-old traditions and his own vision.

The architect spent weeks observing the RCP’s official functions and designed accordingly, paying much attention to the ceremonial and social aspects of RCP life. Instead of asking the physicians ‘what do you want?’ he sought to know ‘what do you do?’. In 1992 Lasdun was awarded the Royal Institute of British Architects’ Trustees Medal in recognition of his work at the RCP, considered to be ‘the best architecture of its time anywhere in the world’.

Enquire Now

We look forward to hearing from you, if you would like to talk to us, or make a booking, please click below to let us know what your requirements are, or call us directly on 020 7034 4900.
Map image

How to find
RCP London

RCP London Events is situated 5 minutes from Regent’s Park Station and Great Portland Street Station.